Nano, Nov 2 – 7th 2016

So, where did I leave off. Right.

The first day of November, I wrote next to nothing. I was too busy trying to figure out what the hell I was going to write about, so that by the time I actually wrote anything, midnight had passed and half of it didn’t count till the next day.

The 2nd – Everything I wrote on the 1st? It truly sucked. It didn’t hit the right note. So I ignored it (never delete during nano) and started over again. Much better.

The 3rd – I still wasn’t happy with what I’d written, but what the hell. The one joy of pantsing is ignoring everything that you’ve already written and moving on. I wrote a conversation. I’m also 2500 words behind.

The 4th – I rewrote the conversation. Aargh. Stupid conversations! But finally, wheels of plot are chugging. Add in a descriptive scene and I’m only a thousand words short!

The 5th – Annd I’m behind again. There’s nothing like ending a sweeping scene and having no idea what comes next. I just churned out words, slowly and painfully, but I wasn’t going to let the story die.

The 6th – I almost caught up to the 10k mark! I introduced a new character, lots of fun, and a sweeping dramatic background. Basically, I gave myself a huge amount to write about, so I did.

The 7th – Trudging again, but not as badly. Still behind on the daily word goals, which is really annoying, but not the scary ‘I’m thousands of words behind, I’m ready to cry’ sort of behind.

Leave a Reply

