The Unhermitting*

While one month off seemed like a lot, apparently I needed more. More isolation, more privacy.

So I avoided anything remotely online; I stopped reading blogs, stopped reading 90% of my email, just plain stopped.

And it was delightful. I read books, lots and lots of books**. Story ideas, both new and old, would randomly pop into my head and I could just let them reveal themselves at their own pace. I daydreamed. I relaxed. To get all poetical, I reconnected with my muse and refilled my creative well.

So now it’s September, and I feel ready to write again. I’m looking forward to NaNoWriMo again, as well as whatever sparks my fancy between now and then. I can read the backlog of posts from my favourite blogs, reconnect with the wider world again, without feeling burnt out.

Opened pages 2/4 by iyandejesus

opened_pages_2_4_by_yantotzkie-d9ckoc0

__

*Hermiting/unhermiting aren’t verbs, but they should be. But should it be hermitting or hermiting? This is a serious question!

**Too many books, according to my elibrary system; it kept telling me I had checked out and returned too many books in too short a time.

4 thoughts on “The Unhermitting*

  1. Well, I for one am very glad to hear from you again dear hart. I am also glad to hear that you’re renewed and back in the saddle, as it were. 🙂

    I am also extremely happy that it’s September. The days are still hot here in North Alabama but the mornings now are in the high sixties but by next week the morning temp will be in the mid sixties…good writing weather from now till January. I love autumn.

    Hmmm, I would say the correct spelling would be hermitting–even though it looks funny. But the word permit is spelt permitting and pet becomes petting. There’s a rule in there somewhere but I’m not sure what it is.

    Again glad to hear all’s well.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Re. footnote #1: it’s “hermitting” if you’re spelling Brits or Canadian, “hermiting” if you spell US American. Same principle as travelling/traveling etc – in American, if the last syllable is unstressed, the consonant stays single, while Canadian/UK English doubles it.
    Re. Footnote #2: been there too. Highly annoying – but it’s the Overdrive people who control that, not the library. You have to wait it out for about three to five days, and it should work again; if it doesn’t, contact the library and they’ll nag Overdrive on your behalf.
    Re. main body of text: good for you! Maybe I need to do that too one of these days. Looking forward to NaNo!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

