I didn’t mean to take a month off

Given that this is a blog dedicated to my thoughts and feelings about writing, while I’m writing, it really isn’t all that surprising that when I took a break , I had no real impetus to blog, either.

That isn’t to say that I didn’t think about writing; I’ve spent a fair bit of time thinking about various stories, refining some, extending others. But all of it’s been in my head, so yeah, no writing, no blogging.

And that still hasn’t really changed yet. I’m slowly circling back to the actual act of writing, but I’m not quite there yet.

Still, I feel bad about not blogging either, so to make up for it, I’ll talk about the things I’ve been doing instead of writing.

  • Reading. I finally gave in and downloaded some ereading apps for my phone, and I’ve since consumed a tremendous number of stories. In the last month I’ve read more than 30 stories* and it’s been great. Not only have I enjoyed myself, but I learned several things.
    1. It’s amazing how much crap is out there. Seriously. For every great story, there’s three half decent ones, and 8 mediocre pieces that needed a good editor before it hit the public. And then there’s the actual hideous stuff, with poor grammar, inconsistent narration, feeble plotlines, etc. And seeing all that crap out there makes me feel much better about my own stuff. Hell, if I lowered my standards, I too could be a published author!
    2. The good stuff is really, really good. I hadn’t realized how much unconscious bias I had against ebooks until I started reading that way. Admittedly, reading on my phone will give me a headache if I do it for too long, but I’ve now expanded my Good Author list by a few writers I’d never have encountered if I hadn’t finally given in to the ereading experience.
  • Khan Academy. One of my kidlets is not doing the greatest in maths, so we are all doing it online together (‘we’ being kidlet, me and my 60+ mother). And it’s surprisingly addictive**. We all agreed to start at the very beginning (which is a tremendous ego boost, doing stuff that is ridiculously easy) and work our way up till our brains exploded. I’m halfway through Grade 5*** and have yet to hit the ‘maths are evil and wrong’ wall. Now, this may all change when I get to the serious stuff, but so far so good. Which is really kind of strange, as I’ve long had a fear of maths. But it’s really freeing to not be in competition with other people, or on a schedule; I can take a ridiculously long time to understand a concept, and no one will care!
  • Kitten wrangling. The kitten is growing, and practices chewing on people, the other cats, and any bits of tissue paper he can get his teeth into. I spend a lot of time chasing him down, picking him up and moving him to a less troublesome location. He is very patient with this, as he enjoys racing back to the spot just removed him from.

I think those are the main things I’ve been occupying my brain with. Oh, and I saw Ghostbusters, which was great fun; I laughed out loud throughout the whole thing****, but now I have to wait till it comes out on dvd to see it again, which is annoying.

__

*Mostly novels, but lots novellas and a few short stories too.

**Well, addicting for me and my mother. Not so much for the kidlet.

***US grades, as that’s the system Khan Academy uses. So, I’m doing stuff that 10 year olds learn, lol. And kicking butt, mustn’t forget that!

****I was the only person who caught the Ed Begley Jr. joke, which made me wonder if it was really a joke, or just something I thought was funny.

6 thoughts on “I didn’t mean to take a month off

  1. Sounds like you’ve been busy.
    I wholeheartedly agree with you on the “so much crap out there on the ebook front”, and how good it can make you feel about your own writing.
    And hey, you don’t have to wait til DVD to see the Ghostbusters movie again – catch it when it gets to the cheap theatre in town!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Whoa! Really glad to hear from you! Also glad that you’re doing well and taking care of business. I want to get to Ghostbusters as well. The trailer looks great.

    I’ve had the same feeing about current stuff being written. I read a James Patterson novel the other day and what a piece of junk. And this guy has like twenty books on the shelf in any bookstore out there. Does he really write them or what? I don’t know. Like you, I also read some amazingly wonderful books, so life goes on.

    Enjoyed your post, as always.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I find a lot of popular authors tend to churn out formulaic stuff (their own formula, but still a formula). I know it’s a bread and butter thing, but still, I’m amazed that people keep buying the new stuff!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This post was fun. I related to some of it.
    1. The mobile phone reading thing is fantastic. I read all the time on the train that way (if I’m not compulsively playing Word Twist in my OCD-like way). And yes, there is a lot of crap. I’ve been reading My Man Jeeves because it was free and I’m finding it quite entertaining. I like the short sentences and the non-ironic/meta prose. It’s actually quite well done in terms of dialogue and wit (of which brevity is the soul, of course).
    2. Math *is* evil and wrong. But glad you’re enjoying it right now.
    3. I don’t have a cat but I laughed at your description of picking him up and moving him and then him moving right back to where he’d just been.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

