Renewing the love

Something I hadn’t expected has been happening as I’ve worked on outlines. Well a couple of things, including that it’s taking a lot longer than I had expected (but that one’s par for the course).

No, the big surprise I’ve had with outlining? Falling in love with my stories all over again.

After years of living with the shape of the story in my head, it’s easy to forget that there was a reason I wanted to write it in the first place. Sort of like marriage, actually, only without the dirty laundry and arguments over who’s fault it was that the cat puked on the bedroom carpet. So really, it’s better than marriage*.

Writing out the steps of the story, being reminded of just how awesome the plot and characters are, has been a real pleasure. Before I started on this little project, the idea of outlining just seemed like a nifty thing to do. Figure out which stories are fully developed, which ones aren’t, and which ones are just nifty ideas that should find a home in another story. But it’s been much more meaningful than that. Outlining is not just an intellectual exercise, but a reminder of why I love to write.

__

*Lol, your mileage may vary, naturally.

Leave a Reply

