The Real Deal: Part 1

Putting real people into books is hard. And I don’t mean historical or famous people; historical is tricky unless you absolutely love that person and have done a ton of research, while celebs should be left as walk-ins (in my far from humble opinion).

No, I mean adding friends and enemies. People you admire in life, or despise with a passion.

When I was in college the second time round, I had a classmate ask me to put her in my nanowrimo novel. Sadly, that was the year I didn’t finish, or even get more than a few thousand words in, so her part never got written. I am going to finish it eventually, and I will include her character, but it’s just a long way off at this point. Creating the character was surprisingly easy; I’m not sure it’ll accurately reflect her, of course, but if I ever finish it, I’ll send her a copy, lol.

Another story I’ve been working on got a lot of inspiration from a blogger I love to pieces, so in thanks I’ve made one of the main characters Scottish, lol. Not too huge a stretch; the story takes place in Cornwall, so it’s workable.

I don’t think I could, or would want to, put an exact replica of a friend into a story. What if my portrayal upset them? What if I needed the character to do something the real person wouldn’t do? No point in ruining a friendship over a story.

In a certain sense, all of my friends end up in my stories. They shape how I see things, and what kinds of things I want to write about. Their fingerprints are all over the dialogue, humour, turmoil, plot ideas, and underlying ethical structure on which every word is hung. But then, all writers do this; that’s what the dedication pages are all about!

 

One thought on “The Real Deal: Part 1

  1. It is hard. I haven’t put friends or family in any writing, but my one attempt at a novel was about Mr D (quelle surprise) and despite having been reading everything I could about him for thirty years, I still wondered if I was understanding and depicting him properly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

