Plotting instead of writing

I admit it, I gave into plotting rather than writing. It’s much easier to sit and daydream about the characters, running them through scenes to see if they’re going to work.

It’s also very important, to me. Because people I thought were pure antagonists actually have more to their stories. And ones I thought would work well as stereotypes, worked better when little bits of inspiration hit, making them entirely different and far more interesting to write about. Which is a bit daunting, to be honest. It’s so much easier to only have one or two interesting characters; having them all take on depth means so much more work! Admittedly, that extra work drives the plot forward so much better than it had moved before, but still. Work!

I’m finding it very hard to get started on this story, even though I love it. I think it’s because I do love it. I want it to be perfect right out of the gate, and so far every time I start it, it just doesn’t feel right. I know, that’s foolish of me; even if it really is crap at the beginning, I can always fiddle with and re-write it later. But I’m still dragging my ass.

Storytime with the Goblins by Abigail Larson

storytime_with_the_goblins_by_abigaillarson-d6hxgsk

One thought on “Plotting instead of writing

Leave a Reply

