Jan. 2 & 3, 2016

I did manage 200 words on the 2nd, but lots of real life happened, so that’s pretty much it for the those two days. But since some of that real life is book/media related, I shall share!

Thanks to the whole classics thing, I got Buddha in the Attic from the library, and the kidlets are reading it aloud in the evening. Youngest is enthralled, and wants to read ahead, lol. It’s a fabulous book, and I highly recommend it.

Also, Eldest is pushing us* to watch The 100 on netflix every night**. It’s decent enough, though I’m not generally a fan of teen media; it’s not that it isn’t well done and delightfully dramatic, but I’ve read more than my fair share of teen fiction over the last few decades, so there isn’t a lot that I haven’t already seen before.

That said, I am enjoying the depth of character development; while some of the characters follow the usual tropes, others are growing as people, which I’m really enjoying. Few shows capture the painful transition of youth to adult in a meaningful way, but the 100 manages it. And also, the adults are not generic meanies who do stupid things to the kids because of mysterious ‘adult’ reasons that are never fully explained.

The third main think that has kept me from writing is that I finally, FINALLY, got my hands on Ancillary Mercy, the third book of the trilogy. So I’ve been devouring that, whenever I get the chance. Given all of these, I just didn’t have time to write.

But I only have about 40 pages left of that, so I think I’ll be able to write tonight. Fingers crossed.

__

*Us in this case is everyone living in the house, no exceptions allowed, lol.

**Our tepid enjoyment of this show means we will watch it, but *not* 2-3 episodes every night, no matter how much Eldest begs.

 

Leave a Reply

