My list of books for teens

kelly-on-books

Since I’m clearly such a (non) expert on the matter, here’s my list of what I think teens should read this year. And I will bite my fingers and not include fluff or comics. Sigh. And after the ages it took me to put links in the last one, you’ll have to google the titles yourself!

  1. Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman
  2. Dracula by Bram Stoker
  3. Paradise Lost by John Milton
  4. Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café by Fannie Flagg
  5. The Color Purple by Alice Walker
  6. Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift
  7. Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman
  8. Kindred by Octavia Butler
  9. Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury
  10. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card*
  11. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
  12. Watership Down by Richard Adams
  13. Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie
  14. American Gods by Neil Gaiman

__

*Be aware, the author is, IMO, an asshat. Despite that, amazing book.

6 thoughts on “My list of books for teens

  1. I’ve read two-and-a-bit of those. The “-and-a-bit” one is Paradise Lost – you’re not messing about, recommending Milton; I don’t think I could read the rest of that unless I absolutely had to. Way too tough slugging. But hey – like I said, so many good books, so little time…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Whoa! Great list Jangling! I’m, as usual with your posts, most impressed. I agree regarding PL. It’s great. The scene with the dazed fallen angels in Hell would do the trick I think for all the teenies out there. I have read most of them…but not Enders Game. Now, what is an IMO? Asshat is self-explanatory, 🙂 Oh, and thank you so much for including Octavia Butler. She’s waaaay at the top on my list. Only two months back I read Parable of the Sower. Loved it.
    Great post. Oh, and loved the pic too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You might already know this, but the first version of Ender’s Game was a novella published in Analog magazine in 1977. It’s an awesome story that was reprinted in a few sci-fi anthologies in the early 80’s when I wasn’t that much older than Ender himself. When the novel came out I had NO interest in reading it because I already knew the plot twist ending and loved the story too much to see it padded out into a novel.

    I have to agree though, Orson Scott Card is a jerk.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

