Tweaking the technique

Post-nano, I’ve done a lot of thinking about writing by scene instead of by story, and I’m tweaking it a bit.

During the end of this latest nanowrimo, I adore it because it didn’t require me to think a great deal, just vomit out the story I had in my head, rather than having to force myself to figure out what was happening next in the story I had been writing before.

Having played with it a bit in the last couple of weeks, I think I need to add a slight bit of discipline to it. I’m going to go with three, maybe four stories that are very prominent in my mind, and stick to those.

I’ll write the story for as long as it works, rather than just one scene. Only switch when it becomes a chore, and then only to one of the others on my list. It’ll be interesting to see how this works out!

the inner noise by janaschi

the_inner_noise_by_janaschi

 

One thought on “Tweaking the technique

Leave a Reply

