Nano 2015 – Nov. 22 (part 1)

I woke this morning and knew what I was going to do for the rest of this nano. Because of the, ahem, rather large number of stories I have waiting to be written, it came to me that the best way to spend the rest of nanowrimo would be to pick one story each day and write a single scene (length amounting to the daily word count). That way, I will still write my 50,000, but instead of partially writing yet another novel, I’ll have written a scene in 9 different ones (I’m not including the 2008 novel, it’s got all sorts of scenes, lol).

Why did this never occur to me before? Okay, part of it is that it doesn’t really fit the ‘rules’; when I started doing nano, the ‘rule’ was that you write a novel, not a pile of different scenes. They relaxed that rule a couple of years ago*, so I should stop feeling a tad guilty and enjoy it.

Next year I want to do this right from the start! Write 30 scenes, 30 different stories**, wow, this will be so much fun!

I’ll post later tonight, about whether this is a good idea or a disaster.

GoW:A The Manticore by Izzy Medrano

gow_a_the_manticore_by_ariokh-d5tda3w

 

__

*nanowrimo rules are more honour-system, intended to push people to write that novel they always meant to, but never quite got around to it.

**if a scene goes longer than one day, that’s okay, but I’ll still have to move on when it’s done. It’ll be interesting to see how many stories I end up working on.

5 thoughts on “Nano 2015 – Nov. 22 (part 1)

Leave a Reply

