Mood Music

I’ve already mentioned that I tend to listen to the same two albums over and over again, but that’s not the entirety of my writing music. I find that while those particular albums can transport me into ‘writer mind’, I still have to mix it up a bit, or I’d get bored.

The rest of what I listen to is very eclectic. I’ve got playlists for ‘fun’, ‘combat scenes’, and other moods, though I rarely name them very well, and so randomly selecting a playlist can be interesting. I also go to sites like jango or accuradio, and select stations that might suit what I’m looking for. It’s very hit or miss, but occasionally I hear something that I also end up buying, so occasionally it’s worth it.

My main thing I’ve found, for mood music to go with my writing, is that it’s best if it’s something I’ve heard before. Nothing can take you out of a scene like falling in love with a song and wondering who the artist is! And jango throws in songs by amateur artists, of various levels of talent, and let’s just say that it can be a tad jarring*.

I find I write better to moody music than happy stuff. No idea why. Have an a cappella version of Creep that most people hate.

___

*Almost none of the songs actually match the playlist style. I’ll have set up electronic to play, and will get into my writing and BAM, there’s suddenly someone playing a harmonica in a Caribbean style.

One thought on “Mood Music

Leave a Reply

