Nano 2015 – Nov. 16

Huzzah, for once I can post the day of!!!

32,055 / 50,000

I’d like to take pride in my awesome wordcount, but I can sense a slowdown coming up, and those always make me anxious.

I mean, I have my outline & all, but some of the next bits are kind of hazy, so I have to do some work to figure it out. Plus, my characters derailed me completely by adding in a 2nd sex scene. This wouldn’t be a problem, except it took up a chunk of a scene meant to go somewhere else entirely. I went with it, because nano*, and words that want to get written are always easier. But it threw my pacing off, and now I’m sort of reeling, trying to get things back on track. It’s also changed how the characters interact with each other. I have to add a scene to deal with how various characters are going to act around each other, because otherwise it makes less sense. Dammit. Okay, technically I could leave it for later editing, I suppose…

Knowing that the next section is a lot hazier than I thought it would be is also stressful; somehow, it made sense when I wrote the outline, lol, and it’s still a necessary bridge to the Big Finale. It’s just that I hadn’t prepped for it properly. I’m glad I’ve found a method for dealing with this.  I’ve even got a blog post about this kind of prepping lined up for tomorrow. Talk about foreshadowing.

Everything  was flowing along so well**, and now it’s time for more bumps. Dammit.

__

*The #1 consideration in nanowrimo is wordcount, so if something is going to add to the wordcount, all the more power to it.

**Why yes, I would like some cheese to go with my whine!

Leave a Reply

