Nano Confession #8

I hate writing dialogue.

I don’t mean picking out the witty phrases; I can sometimes manage that, though often it’s the usual basic stuff.

No, I mean I hate the actual process of writing down dialogue. Back when I wrote in notebooks, it was easy. Typing the quotation marks, however, always slows me down. Even after years of having memorized the location of every key on the keyboard, I still find myself pausing, hitting ctrl + ‘, and then having to get back into the mindset of the words being spoken.

It’s incredibly irritating.

Leave a Reply

