Anger & Anxiety

I’ve been meaning to do a post on anger for a while; finally got around to it!

It’s very common for anxiety to lead to a sudden burst of anger.

Anger is so much easier to express, so much less embarrassing than anxiety.

Being anxious is to have times when you live in a constant state of stress. You can’t deal with the thing causing the stress, for a host of reasons, and that leaves you in a state where you can be easily triggered into rage. The anger becomes a funnel for the tension and it all comes out.

It releases the tension, making the emotional burden easier to bear. It also causes issues with the people around you, because you’ve just dumped a pile of anger on them for little reason.

I hate it when this happens to me. As with a panic attack, if I can clue into the warning signs, I can divert it. If that isn’t working, I can at least warn the people around me; ‘I’m in a really pissy mood right now, it’s not you’. But often I’m too deeply in the moment to catch it.

At it’s best, it can sometimes give me new thoughts on my characters, new ideas for the stories. But maybe that’s just me finding something of value in a negative.

7 thoughts on “Anger & Anxiety

  1. What gets me worked up is my damned paranoia. I get paranoid then I get angry.

    One time I was on my way to the grocery store, a police car stayed close behind me, tail-gating- then he turned off really fast only to be waiting for me at an intersection a mile later. God! What’s that about? I got totally paranoid. By the time I got to the grocery store, I was completely pissed. Of course the cop was just being an ass, but it threw me into a complete panic. I agree though, it comes in handy when writing!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I kind of have it the other way. I feel sad, or whatever, and then I deliberately turn it into anger (though hopefully not rage) so that it’s easier to deal with. Anger can also act as a fire in the belly sort of thing so that I can get stuff done. It can be hard to find that balance between good anger and destructive anger, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sadness can usually evoke so many strange reactions, rage included.

      I have problems with dealing with my emotions (hence my disorder & meds), so I have to strategize. It’s actually pretty rare for me to be angry; short bursts of rage are more common (they burn out quickly). Constructive anger would be useful; that’s probably why I don’t often have it, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

