Guilty pleasures

This is my list of some of what I consider my ever-so-slightly problematic authors. Not everyone would agree with calling them ‘problematic’, and that’s okay. For instance, I view all romance novels as slightly problematic, because they reinforce the idea that being in a couple is The Best Way to Be.

To be perfectly clear, I love these authors’ books*. I just have the occasional pang when I talk about them. Some write in genres I have concerns about; some of them have personal politics I disagree with; some I like only a few of their books (but the bits I do like I love with a burning passion). Some are so formulaic, I don’t really know why I love them so much.

On to the list! Again, in no particular order:

  • Sharon Shinn
  • David Weber
  • JD Robb**
  • Mercedes Lackey
  • Tanith Lee
  • Jim Butcher
  • Laurell K Hamilton
  • Nalini Singh/Charlaine Harris/Sunny/Lynn Viehl/Kresley Cole/JR Ward***
  • Jayne Anne Krentz/Amanda Quick
  • MaryJanice Davidson
  • Meljean Brook

__

*Well, some of their books; some have series I just can’t get into.

**a pseudonym for Nora Roberts, whose regular works I’m less in love with.

***I think of this as my trash(y) collection.

5 thoughts on “Guilty pleasures

      • Picadillos are weird. I mean, this avoidance of historicals I have doesn’t apply to Heyer and regency romances, but even then, I’m super picky. Maybe I overdosed on historical fantasy as a tween; I read *a lot* of it then. Going to revisit Yarbro!

        Like

        • Newfish says:

          If you haven’t read it, check out False Dawn. It’s post apocalyptic future survival. I stumbled on it at the library when I was a kid, and I was pretty amazed. It’s much different in tone than her historical stuff. (It’s getting old and I’m afraid we’ve probably passed the time frame, as happens with older scifi, but mostly it’s a very bleak and dark adventure story.)

          Liked by 1 person

          • Oh, fair warning: it has the first literary rape scene that made me really go, “oh, that is awful.” Obviously folks are raped in Tanith Lee books all the time, but it’s usually vague or sexy or vague sexy rape. Yarbro’s not that bad usually, but in False Dawn, it’s pretty unpleasant.

            (I’m really selling this book, aren’t i?)

            Like

Leave a Reply

