Prepping for Nano – Sept. 9

Well, I’m having no problem coming up with lots of ideas for this year.

Topping the list:

  • cybernetic soldiers fighting mutant fanatics get thrown back in time
  • space vampires
  • continuing my nano 2008
  • antagonistic mages compete to see who can rid city of the Big Bad
  • super old idea (still not worked out past the one scene). Standard fantasy.
  • retired soldier goes to visit her new estate. fantasy. gender comedy
  • Psychics used to hunt down fae, MC manages to quit

Clearly, the first stands out, looking pretty hot. But in all honesty, I like all of my story ideas, so I don’t know what I’ll pick. Plus now others are clamoring for my attention. Dammit.

14 thoughts on “Prepping for Nano – Sept. 9

  1. Space vampires and the troubles of drinking blood in zero gravity.
    “Dammit, John, you nicked the artery again!”
    “Sorry!”
    “Well, don’t look at me! Float around and clean it up!”
    P. S. I’m sorry. My mind goes places. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was thinking more like those juice straws, or tubing. Though to be slightly more serious, I’d think the mouth closed over the skin and a slight bit of sucking would create a seal. You’d be able to track the vamp by the ginormous hickeys.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, that would qualify the 15 yr old me 😀
        To me, the vampire theme can be interesting when the worldbuilding is done right. You know? The rules of that world make sense in context of the world.
        So, how are they organized? Where do they come from? Are they born or made? Who is the boss of them? Are they immortal, and if so, do they move with the times or stay stuck in a particular era*? And in the context of space, do they have their own planet? Do they need a special atmosphere to survive?
        I don’t know if you’ve read Ilona Andrews. She has two interesting takes on the vampire thing, one in her Kate Daniels series, and the other in her Inkeeper Chronicles.
        P. S. Sorry. I ramble.
        *disco vamp, punk vamp, hipster vamp, skater boy vamp, emo vamp…. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. re: Innkeeper 2nd book. A bit of it was the ending/pacing. Time to figure it out, lol!

    Let’s see. Bits that threw me off. Hmm. Bringing in characters from the Edge series threw me off, mostly because I prefer the idea of them having their own story in their own world, but I’m guessing the writers are tired of that series?

    Oh, and the Agatha Christie style mystery; leaving really tiny clues so the reader has a hard time figuring out ‘whodunnit’ so the writer can go ‘ta da!’ at the end. I guess it’s better than throwing out too much info, but I like a bit more lead in.

    I was also a bit annoyed with the self-sacrificing for Love bit. Too cliché.

    Okay, that last one really nails it, I think. One of the things I love about Ilona Andrew’s books is how tropes are constantly either reversed or subverted. Sweep in Peace didn’t really do that, and I missed it.

    There were still lots of things I loved in the story. I loved the interactions with the chef. I loved how Dina showed off more of her inn’s powers. I did love seeing more of Edge characters (I just want them to have their own dammed novel!). I loved the Horde and want more of their stories!

    Liked by 1 person

    • First of all, yay you for explaining so well! 🙂 I didn’t even know that the Agatha style mystery bit was the thing that bugged me. I like more clues, too.
      I kinda expected George to show up somewhere, because that part when the Arbitrator (Klauss) shows up and asks him to serve was posted a long time ago, so a crossover was implied.
      I don’t think more of the Edge series is planned. But I do want Sophie’s story! And Jack’s! And Gastons!
      Hey, turns out we love the same parts 🙂 I like when Dina makes rooms(the details for Sophie’s room was a lovely touch). I like her interactions with Caldenia(who is such an interesting character). I even like how she resolved the conflict, making everyone feel the pain of the others(diplomacy it was not, effective it certainly is).
      I also loved the ending, with the cop, because come on!
      I kinda have a hard time being objective because I love their books so much. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

        • It’s easier to be objective when it’s not your work, I think. Plus, to be a writer, I think you do need to be a reader, so… 😉
          Have you read Jennifer Crusie’s blog, Argh Ink? She has a ton of posts on conflicts and plotting and stuff. Plus, she did/does commentary on shows from the storytellers perspective. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

            • I always return to Crusie. Her books are the literary version of comfort food for me. 🙂 Her blog is interesting, and she did teach writing classes, so I’m assuming she knows what she’s talking about re technique.
              I’m currently re reading Eileen Dreyer and her medical mysteries. Maybe seeing GONs comments on Cheki’s blog reminded me.
              P. S. Please do make a list of your fav authors!

              Like

Leave a Reply

