NaNo confession #3

Sometimes I purposefully write crap. I know there’s no judgement to Nano, and that if I wanted to, I could write ‘I suck’ over and over and over again, and so long as I actually typed it all out, it would count.

I try to have higher standards than that. I have dozens of stories in my head, and of course they all need to be written out, because otherwise I start to lose them and I hate that sensation. It’s like trying to remember the details of that really great party you went to ten years ago, but now all you can remember is how you drove that one guy home and he puked all over the side of the car.

Anyway.

It’s usually during the frantic pace of nano that I realize I haven’t quite filled in all the gaps in the story, and so I need to figure out how to get from point A to point C. Or that the wonderful scene in my head only took 200 words to write.

So I add crap. Hugely detailed descriptions that would have given Daphne du Maurier a run for her money*. Sex scenes where no such scene ever belonged in the history of writing. I go off on tangents which not only complicate the plot, but frequently make the actual plot unworkable.

Being the type of person that I am, having poorly written stuff in my work irritates the hell out of me. If I let myself stop and actually think about it, I’d end up going crazy. Maybe that’s why I have trouble getting to the editing stage; knowing I’ll have to look at all the times I wrote badly.

* I am exaggerating. At no point have I written an entire chapter about a driveway.

Leave a Reply

